By Amber Williams
If there’s one thing people who live the gluten-free life want others to understand, it’s that “it’s not just a fad,” says Sweet Rewards Gluten-Free Bakery owner Michelle Holtz. Many people eat gluten free not by choice, but by necessity, most commonly due to celiac disease.
Celiac disease is a digestive condition triggered by consumption of the protein gluten, which is in foods containing wheat, barley, rye and sometimes oats. There are limited dietary choices for people with gluten sensitivity, and most beer is off limits, because it is derived from barley or rye. One answer to that dilemma was brought to America by the famed historic character, Johnny Appleseed, and brought to restaurants and bars in the form of hard cider.
“We take celiac disease seriously, and since Woodchuck has always, and only, been made from apples (not wheat, barley or rye), none of our cider varieties have ever contained gluten,” states the Woodchuck Hard Cider website. “Further, we have all our ciders tested by an independent lab, and we maintain a completely gluten-free facility.”
It’s the go-to choice at The Club Car, a well-known gluten-free restaurant and lounge in Clive, according to its owner Dave Tasler. “And it’s delicious,” he said.
He’s right. Because it’s made from apples, hard cider is tasty and smooth. And for those who prefer a libation with a little extra kick, it’s also a great mixer. Cider beer complements many different liquor varieties, though not all liquors are gluten free.
According to http://www.celiacdisease.com, all distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten free, including rum, gin, whiskey and vodka. So add that extra spice or saucy kick to your cider. Warm up those cheeks this winter, and do it guilt and gluten free. RELISH