By Amber Williams
When it comes to steak, it’s all about preparation. In general, fresh fruits and meats are inherently gluten-free, according to http://www.celiacdisease.com, which outlines the dos and don’ts of dieting for people who cannot ingest gluten due to celiac disease. It’s what happens after the beef is cut from the cow that is significant. That’s when the meat can become contaminated by gluten.
“Beware of meats and poultry with added ingredients that make them into ready-to-cook or ready-to-eat dishes — most of these are not safe to consume on the diet, since the store might use unsafe sauces or even bread crumbs,” writes Judy Anderson on the website. “I’ve found that information on the ingredients in these ready-to-use products frequently is lacking, so I’d advise steering clear.”
But there is more than one way to serve steak. It’s a common alternative to chicken in many dishes, especially south of the border, including fajitas, burritos, tacos, etc.
“All of our ingredients are gluten free,” said the woman behind the counter at Chipolte Mexican Grill. “You just order them as a bowl instead of with a tortilla.”
Because much of the gluten in burritos is found in the flour wraps, ordering the same mix of ingredients as a bowl is a viable and still delicious and filling GF alternative. So sans the flour tortilla, gluten-free steak can be ordered in a bowl accompanied by a choice of cilantro-lime rice, pinto or black beans, meat (braised carnitas or barbacoa, adobo-marinated and grilled chicken or steak) or guacamole, salsa and cheese or sour cream — all gluten free, according to the menu.
Of course, if you want a steak — like a thick-cut sirloin, T-bone or ribeye, you know, like the cowboys eat — the experts advise to specify to the server that it must be gluten free, so no cross-contamination occurs in the kitchen. RELISH